top of page

A Guide to Developing and Assessing Your Business Continuity Lifecycle

Updated: Jan 3

Business Continuity is a crucial plan for organizations to remain resilient in adversity. It enables them to manage difficult situations and innovate promptly. The goal serves as a roadmap, and they carry out various activities regularly to achieve it. This approach ensures that the organization stays strong and prepared to handle any challenge that comes its way. Let's delve deeper into the business continuity management lifecycle:

What Is Business Continuity Management Lifecycle?

The Business Continuity Institute's Good Practice Guidelines (2018) explain the six important Business Continuity Management Lifecycle parts. This cycle shares how businesses can continually and proactively make themselves strong and resilient.

Stage 1: Policy Management

To start your program, first, create a Business Continuity Lifecycle policy. It guides the program in creating its scope, objectives, and company hierarchy. Business leaders must offer consistent support by overlooking policy development, managing resources, and supporting improvement. This step is crucial for demonstrating a commitment to the program's success.

Stage 2: Business Integration

In this stage, the aim is to blend the business continuity lifecycle into daily activities. You must ensure stakeholders like employees are aware through clear communication and training sessions. Send the correct message to your audience. Your workforce needs to be skilled in what they do to handle difficult situations competently.

Stage 3: Business Continuity Lifecycle Analysis

During the analysis phase, it is important to identify the requirements for maintaining business operations. One such method is the Business Impact Analysis (BIA), which helps determine the significance of each business activity and how disruptions can affect product and service delivery. The BIA provides crucial information such as the Maximum Tolerable Period of Disruption (MTPD), Recovery Time Objective (RTO), Recovery Point Objective (RPO), and Minimum Business Continuity Objectives (MBCO). Different types of BIAs, such as Initial, Product and Service, Process, and Activity, offer varying levels of information. Organizations can use these in combination to meet their specific needs. Evaluating and planning for the risks and threats in advance is also important. Horizon scanning is a useful tool that helps anticipate future threats and deal with them in real time.

Stage 4: Design

During the Design phase, you can utilize all the information gathered to create appropriate Business Continuity Lifecycle solutions that align with the organization's objectives. These solutions involve diversifying or replicating existing processes. It's important to note that a faster Recovery Time Objective (RTO) results in a more reliable and expensive solution. Top management must approve the chosen resolution, ensuring it is effective and caters to the organization's requirements.

Stage 5: Business Continuity Lifecycle Implementation

Organizations carry out the solutions decided in the Design phase by creating Business Continuity plans. These plans must help the organization meet its continuity goals within set timeframes. The Plan should be a clear checklist for crisis response, using simple language and only including necessary info. This phase also forms an Incident Response Structure, outlining roles and skills needed for managing various disruptions.

Stage 6: Validation

The business continuity lifecycle program is reviewed in this phase to ensure it aligns with policy objectives. The goal is to maintain a relevant structure that leads to effective performance and proactive improvement. Regular reviews are needed to identify areas for improvement and enhance the company's output. By partnering with SphereCard, an innovative app, as your business continuity lifecycle partner, you can save time and boost customer engagement through effective marketing strategies.


bottom of page